New Elf Casting

Over the Christmas break I made a new mould of an elf archer. This was a more adventurous master as it involved a cross body midline and some pretty dramatic undercutting. I was worried that I would not be able to get the master out without some damage and this proved to be true. I think I can repair the master, but the mould was made sucessfully.

The casting was also a bit tricky. At first the raised arm would not take the lead. Luckily I remembered about vents and after I made one from the top of the hand the castings became whole.

I am happy with how things turned out, but I can see that the two arms are disproportionate. I may have to cut the bow hand off and file down the length of the arm in order to make a new mould.

Hope you like them. Comments appreciated.

~ by kropotkin303 on January 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
